Fried Chicken

One of my very best friends is getting married, one month from today to be exact! She is not only one of my greatest friends but my longest, literally our mothers were pregnant at the same time with us. We have literally grew up together, through elementary school, high school, and even to this day we are still like peas and carrots! 🙂

Here is a picture of our blushing bride and her sweet fiancé:

Seriously can’t you just see the love there? Makes my hearts swell!

Obviously, there was no question whether or not I would be throwing her a bridal shower. This past weekend, myself and three other friends of mine did just that. The four of us got together and planned to do a coed gift card shower with a sit down meal. Seriously, if you have never heard of a gift card shower, this is the way to go! Everyone simply brings a gift card for the couple, no exchanging or hassle for them, they simply can go get what they need. Love it.

The shower turned out to be very successful, everyone did their part to help and we all worked great together to give them a shower they deserved. I was responsible for the meat and although I love to cook, I am no Martha and cooking for 50 plus was not on my agenda with children hanging on my legs and waist at my every move.  So I ordered fried chicken (southern gals) to be prepared ahead of time and all I had to do was pick it up. Easy! This worked out perfectly, however, I was so terrified of not having enough that I may have ordered WAY too much. Literally, I had a box of 60+ pieces of fried chicken left to take home. Hello…..what the heck I am going to do with all that chicken!

My plan, give it away as party favors, but no one was taking the bait so I was stuck packing it home! Next plan, I bagged some up and gave it to my in-laws, grandparents, great-grand parents, random strangers I saw on the street, but I swear the chickens were reproducing in that box because it looked like I hadn’t touched it. Third times always a charm, I planned on stretching it out and seeing how many recipes I could make with left over fried chicken.

The internet was not really a big help, I guess no one either eats fried chicken these days or at least not in mass quantities! So, it was up to me to get creative.

Here is what I came up with using ingredients I already had at home:

Sticking with the southern theme, I made a soup that was a cross between homemade chicken noodle and chicken & dumplings. And not to toot my own horn, but it turned out pretty darn good. Carter even asked for seconds and that never happens!

4-5 Fried Chicken Breasts (I pulled off as much skin as I could)

6 cups of water (chicken broth would probably work well too but I didn’t have any)

1 stick of butter (I didn’t say this was a healthy recipe)

Diced carrots

1 package of Reames Homestyle Flat Dumplings (found in the freezer section)

Salt & Pepper to taste

Parsley and I added 2 or 3 Bay Leafs

I cooked everything in the crock pot on high at noon and added the dumplings about an hour before we planned to eat dinner.

The next night, Carter actually requested that I make the chicken and dumplings again so I used the remaining chicken to make another batch of soup and then I created a buffalo chicken pizza!

I got a little distracted when the timer went off so it is a little more cooked than I intended, good thing we like pizza well done! Never the less, it turned out pretty well. I used:

1 pre-made pizza crusts

3 bell peppers (red, orange, and yellow) cut into strips

The remaining chicken cut into small pieces

Buffalo Hot Sauce

Ranch dressing

Mozzarella cheese

Olive Oil

Salt

First, I sautéed the peppers in olive oil and salted them for seasoning. Once they were cooked, I brushed a thin layer of olive oil on the pizza crust and then spread the ranch dressing on top. I took the pieces of chicken and tossed them in buffalo sauce. Then I began to add all toppings to the pizza. It was supposed to cook at 450 for about 8-10 minutes but mine got left in for a few minutes longer but still turned out fine! I am happy to say that was also the last of the chicken! Shew!

I can’t believe my friends’ wedding is getting so close, I really hope they don’t plan on serving fried chicken because I don’t care to see another piece for a while! Haha! But seriously, I am beyond thrilled for the both of them and can’t wait to share pictures and the story of their very special day. 🙂

Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

– Carey

2 thoughts on “Fried Chicken

  1. Wow! It didn’t hit me until reading this that it really is one month from today! Oh my! And by the way…we have already put some of those gift cards to good use! Loved the shower! And I’m very impressed with the recipes…if Zac had known you were making chicken and dumplins he would have been at your doorstep! I was wondering what you were going to do with a 50 pound box of chicken! hanks again for everything you guys did Saturday, it was perfect! Love you!

Leave a Reply

